top of page
Writer's pictureKaylee

Dave's Bell Peppers Grilled to Perfection

Updated: Aug 5, 2020

These grilled peppers are great as a side to a summer cookout, as an extra depth of flavor to a stir fry, served on top of a chicken sandwich, or just on their own! Not only are they light and refreshing, they are also really quite simple to grill up!

I figured it was about time I honor one of my dad’s recipes on here. After all he was the one who inspired me to start Et Voila, this little blog, in the first place. Currently, I'm a college student living and commuting from my home with my parents in Longmont. I am very close to my family but I know that the day will come, when I am ready to move out. I want to travel to Europe for a bit and I know I wont be around to cook or share as many of my stories with my amazing family. So, I wanted to create a blog where I could share my recipes and life with the world, but more importantly with my parents, when I’m no longer around to for them all the time. I wanted to make a place where my dad could find his favorite recipes, I could help teach my friends how to cook on their own, and where I could share my recipes and stories with the world.



So here is one of my all-time favorite summer recipes, developed completely by my dad…you would think he would be able to remember his own recipes but honestly you never know with him!










 

Grilled Bell Peppers


Ingredients

  • 3 Bell Peppers (any color(s) you want, I used yellow and red above)

  • Olive Oil

  • Mrs. Dash seasoning

  • Kickin’ BBQ seasoning

  • Pepper and Salt for Seasoning

  • Or whatever seasoning your heart desires! I sometimes use Italian seasoning, but if you know me I use Italian seasoning on just about anything I cook. I have a soft spot for it I guess…

Method


1* Heat your grill to a medium heat and prepare peppers for covered grilling. (You can grill these before, after, or during your grilling of anything else you plan to have with the meal. When my dad makes these, he usually starts the chicken that we place the peppers on top of and then grills these when the chicken is almost done grilling.)

2* Brush each bell pepper with olive oil so that it is lightly coated and season with whatever seasoning you would like to use for your desired flavor. Note that you can also cut the peppers in half lengthwise at this point and deseed/de-stem them, however, they will take less time on the grill to be charred if you go with this method.

3* Grill the peppers for 4-5 minutes on one side and then flip each pepper to the other side to grill for 4-5 minutes on that side, to allow for an even charred appearance on both sides.

4* Let the peppers cool slightly before deseeding them and season them once again if you want to! :)


Et Voila

 

A few Lil’ Notes:

  • Toasty’s are amazing with these peppers thrown on top! Just prepare whatever toasted sandwich you adore and throw a few slices of grilled bell peppers on top of you layers for a pop of color and taste!

  • Oh, and be sure not to burn yourself trying to deseed the peppers. If you cut them lengthwise before grilling to avoid this be sure to start grilling the peppers skin side down.


 




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page