top of page
Writer's pictureKaylee

A College Kid's Spice Rack

Updated: Jan 5, 2022


Recipes can be intimidating, especially when they call for spices that you have never heard of. Don’t worry, a lot of spices can be substituted or even omitted.

So, if you are at a loss for crushed truffle, used up your last black cardamon, or can’t find fresh-crushed amchoor for the life of you...do not panic. Here is a list of a few basic spices I recommend having around for basic home-cooking or if you are just starting to collect your spice rack! Trust me, there are no crazy, chef-approved, expensive or otherwise unheard of spices in this post. It is just a few basics I find myself using all the time in recipes.

 

1. The Three Kings.


Sugar, Ground Pepper, and Salt.

Honestly, these spices are basic cupboard essentials. A dash of salt often enhances the flavors to any dish you are working with. It also plays a big role in baking acting as a key ingredient for preventing bland bread dough, serves as a rising agent or to add a savory contrast to the sweet notes of your dish.

A dash of pepper adds warm flavor to any dish you are working with. I've rarely used ground pepper when baking, but it such an essential spice that I wouldn't be surprised if you stumbled across a bake that called for a hint of pepper.

Sugar. I have a sweet tooth, I can't deny it. Look, I get it from my grandma. She will take the smallest slice of every dessert at a party, just sample everything...And don't even ask...she can never pick just one favorite. I am into healthy eating, cooking, and baking...but sugar is a staple in so many great recipes. It should never be demonized or boycotted in any great chef's kitchen!

2. The Love of my Cooking Life.


Italian Seasoning. I use this in just about everything I cook...well ok not everything, there are a few exceptions. I just love this stuff, it adds such a pop of flavor to dishes and is so versatile! If you are looking to grow your spice rack and range of flavors in your dishes I highly recommend picking up a container of Italian seasoning. It lasts a long time and it has never let me down!

3. My Baking Babes.


Vanilla, Cinnamon, Flour, Ginger and Brown Sugar.

Baking staples. Cinnamon, spice, everything nice. I adore the maple/cinnamon flavor in baking and I use cinnamon in so many recipes. Ginger adds a nice maple-like warmth to bakes as well and is often used in cooking too.

Vanilla Extract and flour, however, are baking essentials to me. I use vanilla in EVERYTHING...and I always throw in more than the recipe calls for. I can't help it, I love vanilla, and so does the rest of the baking world.

Flour is a generic cupboard necessity, it is a key binding agent of baking. If you are wanting to get more into baking on your own I highly recommend picking up these five ingredients, as well as the granulated sugar mentioned above, to kick things off!

4. The Beautiful Cheats.

Garlic Powder, Mrs. Dash, Weber Kick’N Chicken

These three spices are so convenient. Mrs. Dash and Weber's Kick'N Chicken can be used to add flavor, heat and a spicey kick to any dish. I often use these two spices to season my chicken before I tackle any of my chicken recipes. If you are looking for a super simple flavorful dinner just rub these two spices and a bit of olive oil onto a protein of your choice and grill or fry up a wonderful dish!

Garlic powder is also a wonderful cooking "hack." If you don't have any fresh garlic lying around but a dish calls for garlic, you want a garlic flavor in your food, or you want to simply make some pretty killer (and simple) garlic bread this is the spice for you!


5. Counted on Time after Thyme.

Thyme and Cilantro.

These two spices are very common in a variety of cuisine. These are the two spices I encounter time and thyme again (ha! see what I did there?). They are two flavor staples of the culinary world.

6. The Trio of Heat.

Paprika, Chili Powder, Red Pepper.

If you are looking to add a bit of spice to your dishes (I often use this trio when cooking my taco fillings) these three spices are your guys. They are the kings of spice and will add a kick to any dish you are working with, just remember a little goes a LONG way!

7. My Safety Net of Oils and Liquids.

Canola Oil Spray, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Balsamic Vinegar.

Oil and vinegar are essential when it comes to cooking and baking. I promise that if you are just starting your culinary adventure you will want to have these three ingredients in your cupboard. I use these ingredients religiously at this point.


8. This Oregano, Not That Oregano.

Leaf Oregano.

Oregano is a key ingredient in Greek and Mediterranean cuisine. It adds an earthy undertone to food. I do not have much to say about this one either, just N E V E R get ground oregano. It is messy, leaves a weird color behind, and just does not compete with the beautiful flavor of leaf oregano... I don't know why I just have a grudge for ground oregano...to many of my vegetable sides have been tainted by the stuff for me to even think about recommending it.


 

The College Spice Rack

Et Voila


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page